Review: HBCxMeet (UK) + 7 Reasons to Attend a Blogger Meet-Up

Did you notice that I posted more than usual last week?

I’ve been feeling inspired again thanks to the Health Bloggers Community meet up (#HBCxMeet) that I attended last weekend.

To be honest I really wasn’t feeling like going on the day because my hair was really greasy and I didn’t have time for a shower before my train. Plus my makeup wasn’t going on properly because the weather in making my skin is so dry! I was having a crisis of self-confidence and didn’t feel like meeting anyone new! But since I’d booked my train I thought I should go. Now I’m so glad I did!

Before the event I had an amazing brunch with my friends Lucy (Little Luxury Foods) and Romy (Romy London UK) , who I know through the Health Bloggers Community. Then at the meet up I bumped into a few faces I know from instagram but have never met in person @katharineflute, @leishamulvey, @train_strong_to_live_strong I’m talking about you!), which was a nice surprise.

 

If you run a health and/or wellbeing blog or instagram account or you’re interested in setting one up then I think you’d really love to attend a meet up (the next one is the Health Bloggers Summit – 15th April 2017- details here).

Health bloggers community meet up

Photo credit: Romy London UK.

7 reasons to go to a HBC meet up

1.Meet brands

There were 10+ brands at the meet up who were all keen to talk to bloggers and let us try their products. Meeting brands face-to-face is a great way to get to know them and if you’re lucky you could get some extra samples or arrange to collaborate with them.

The number of brands varies depending on the meet-up but I can almost guarantee there will be at least a few brands who will get you excited to work with them.

talking to brands at the HBCxMeet

Here’s me and my terrible hair talking to the girls from Skinny Dipping. Photo credit Fab Giovanetti (more photos on the healthbloggers facebook page)

2.Try new things

Related to the point above- you will get to try new products that you might not have come across before. For example, I had heard of the brand Heck, but I thought that they only sold ‘healthier’ meat sausages. But it turns out that they do a vegan range as well! The Thai bites were actually really nice and I have since spotted them in my local supermarket and got a pack.

Through my blog I want to help people learn about new healthy foods and brands, so I think it’s important to keep learning yourself and try new things.

HBC review: meet brands like Heck

 

3. Meet bloggers

Meeting other bloggers is my favourite part of a meet up. It’s so interesting to talk to other health bloggers who take a different focus on their blog, for example mental health or fitness. Everyone I have met has been so friendly and I’m sure you would have a great time meeting people.

I have made some lovely friends though the blogging community and taken part in some collaborations. Here are just a few of the guest posts on my site:

Confessions of a Health Blogger: Libby’s Health Bites

Vegan Protein Doughnuts (Leisha Mulvey)

Radish and Ginger Smoothie Bowl (@thegoodavocado)

If you’d like to guest post for me then get in touch (healthyandpsyched@gmail.com)

why go to a blogger event

Me, Lucy and Romy. Photo credit Fab Giovanetti (more photos on the healthbloggers facebook page).

4.Get advice

At the meet up we had a Q&A session with Fab Giovanetti – the founder of the Health Bloggers Community. Fab is very knowledgeable and she answered all sorts of questions about blog layouts, how to grow your instagram following and what to charge when collaborating with brands. It was really great to get some firsthand advice.

If you can’t make it to a meet-up then you can join the online community and ask questions or sign-up for a blogging course with the Health Bloggers Academy (I have done several and highly recommend them).

why go to a blogger meet up

The lovely Fab

5.Get Freebies!

I already mentioned this earlier, but brands at the meet up gave out samples. In addition, we all got a goodie bag that was jam packed with things from Bounce bliss balls, to Indigo Herbs Mango powder (which I already had but I wouldn’t turn down more!) and Maple Water!

review health bloggers meet up

6.Get Inspired

Speaking to so many people who are passionate about blogging is bound to get you fired up and the ideas for new blog posts flowing.

In this meet up we were also lucky enough to have a talk from Healthy Fit Fran, who has a successful blog and instagram account. She is a professional dancer and through her account she has managed to contact her idol (Madonna’s choreographer) and go to New York for personal  dance lessons!  She has also used social media to work with a huge range of brands and made opportunities for herself. It was really inspiring to hear just what you can achieve!

review health bloggers meet up and why you should attend

Photo credit Fab Giovanetti

7.Have fun

Most importantly, there was a brilliant atmosphere. Perhaps helped by the free Twisted Halo drinks! Although I didn’t have any I still had an amazing time.

reasons to attend a blogger meet up

Photo credit: Romy London UK

 

When’s the next meet up?

The next meet up is very exciting. The first EVER Health Blogging Summit on the 15th April 2017 in London, UK.

Check out this link for more details and to buy tickets

 

Have you ever been to a blogger meet up? What was your experience?

 

54 Comments

  1. January 30, 2017 / 11:06 am

    I really would love to go to a blogger meet at some point… Although I’d probably need to bring my daughter with me, haha…

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 2:26 pm

      How old is your daughter? I think she would enjoy the meet up if it was anything like the one’s that I’ve attended.

  2. January 30, 2017 / 11:45 am

    It has been a while since I have been to a blogger event, mainly because I work everyday but also because I seem to get invited to less events these days. They are a great way of meeting brands though x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 2:25 pm

      Yeah, I find that a lot of events are on week days or week day evenings in london, which is hard for me to get to without taking time away from uni.

  3. January 30, 2017 / 11:46 am

    I went to a blogger meet a few years ago in this tea room by Cardiff Castle. The tea we all had was fantastic and i enjoyed meeting different bloggers x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 2:24 pm

      That sounds nice. I’d be keen for food related meet-ups! 😉

  4. January 30, 2017 / 1:23 pm

    I agree, going to a bloggers meet up is a great way to stay motivated and meet new bloggers x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 2:24 pm

      🙂 I think it’s nice to connect with other bloggers online but you can’t beat actually meeting someone face to face.

  5. January 30, 2017 / 2:21 pm

    I would love to attend a proper blogger meet at some point. Im going to an event tomorrow with a few which im looking forward to. Your day sounds fabulous 🙂

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 2:23 pm

      That event sounds nice. Sometimes it’s nice to meet a few people so you can have a better chat with them. Hope you enjoy it.

  6. January 30, 2017 / 3:09 pm

    I agree, I think going to blogger meet ups are fantastic for so many reasons. Besides meeting other bloggers you may only know online and connecting with brands, I think that going to these meet ups can infuse you with new enthusiasm for your blog and inspire you to do more x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 10:28 pm

      I always find it amazing how I can feel in a rut and then as soon as I start talking to someone about food or blogging I feel inspired again.

  7. January 30, 2017 / 4:34 pm

    I have never attended such an event mostly because I live 2 hours away from London. It sounds like a great way of meeting new people and get to know more about your favorite brands. I will be in London in April, I’ll see if i can coordinate with the next meeting 🙂

  8. Dannii
    January 30, 2017 / 5:02 pm

    My favourite thing about these events is meeting up with other bloggers. I have made so many friends through these events.

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 10:26 pm

      I’m so pleased you’ve had a good experience and made friends. My boyfriend laughs at me when I talk about my blogging friends who I’ve only met once, but I actually message them more often than some of my actual friends!!

  9. January 30, 2017 / 7:28 pm

    It sounds like you had a great time, I need to make time to get to blogger meet ups but it isn’t always easy x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 10:25 pm

      I can imagine it’s more difficult if you have children. I also find that things always seem to clash!

  10. January 30, 2017 / 7:59 pm

    I have been to a few blogger meets, at first its daunting but after that you realise how much fun it is to meet other like minded people.

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 10:24 pm

      I think I was worried as well the first time that I went to an event on my own. But everyone there just wants to have a good time so most people are friendly.

  11. January 30, 2017 / 9:54 pm

    Great post, Rachel! Really looking forward to the Summit already! 🙂

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 30, 2017 / 10:21 pm

      Yay. I’m so excited as well 🙂 <3

  12. January 31, 2017 / 9:25 am

    I’ve never been to an event of any kind, I think i’d be quite nervous to talk to people as I am very shy x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 31, 2017 / 11:19 am

      You seem to lovely from your blog and comments 🙂 I went to a different event recently and thought some people looked quite intimidating so I just found some people to talk to who I thought looked more approachable.

  13. January 31, 2017 / 10:00 am

    I tried to do one recently and passed on my details but no one got back to me in the end. Was a bit gutted as it’s not always easy to make them and they seem like fun.

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 31, 2017 / 11:17 am

      Aww, that’s such a shame. I agree it’s not always easy to make them, or even find out that they are happening. I think there are meet up more locally for me, but it seems like unless you’ve been to one you never find out about the next one!

  14. January 31, 2017 / 5:00 pm

    I love going to blogger meets! I get so much out of them, and at the very least get to spend time with women who I admire and who’s friendship I have come to treasure x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 31, 2017 / 7:45 pm

      Absolutely beautiful way to describe the experience. I totally agree 🙂

  15. January 31, 2017 / 9:15 pm

    I have never been to a blogger event not yet anyway eek! I loved reading about what you did and how you got inspiration from it. I hope someone does an interior one soon! And if you want to do an interior collab then please get in touch X

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 31, 2017 / 11:16 pm

      Huuuum… I haven’t heard of any special interior ones. You might be able to go to a general blogger meet up if there’s one in your area 🙂 I was just saying today that I wish I knew more about decorating and interior design (and also how to do my make-up better) but I’d just rather read about food and fitness!! Do you know anything about decorating tips to improve wellbeing?

  16. January 31, 2017 / 9:42 pm

    My mummy attends some local blogger meet-ups in the south east and its great speaking to like minded bloggers and exchange ideas. Sounds like it was worth the effort to attended x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 31, 2017 / 11:17 pm

      Awww that’s so nice. It’s good to know there are so many active blogger meet ups. Hope she has fun.

  17. January 31, 2017 / 11:09 pm

    I havent been to a blogger meet up in years, would be great to go to one xxx

    • Heathy & Psyched
      January 31, 2017 / 11:19 pm

      Lovely blog Laura. It looks so professional.
      I wish it was easier to find out when they’re happening!!

  18. January 31, 2017 / 11:54 pm

    I would love to go to a bloggers meet-up. I don’t know anybody else in real life who blogs and it would be fun to meet other people who understand the joys and frustrations of blogging.

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 1, 2017 / 12:01 am

      Aww, that’s a shame you don’t know anyone in real life. At least there is such a great online community where you can get support.

  19. February 1, 2017 / 3:25 am

    I have actually been to a few events and it is really fun to meet other bloggers and brands and just chat about blogging and give each other tips and just put a face to the blog. I have met so many amazing blogger and I keep meeting more. The blogging community is so amazing!!

  20. February 1, 2017 / 12:03 pm

    I love blogger events, I’m always nervous before but glad I went. It sounds like this was a lovely event

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 2, 2017 / 4:29 pm

      Snap, I get worried as well but then everything always turns out to be fine. And even if it isn’t you could just leave with the goodie bag haha!

  21. February 1, 2017 / 8:26 pm

    I have been to a few blogger meet ups and they are great for improving blogging and getting to know brands

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 2, 2017 / 4:22 pm

      Glad you had a good experience 🙂

  22. February 1, 2017 / 11:10 pm

    It’s great when you can go to an event like this and come home feeling so inspired! I haven’t been able to go to a blogger meet up yet but I’m hoping I can, at some point, go to a few throughout the year 🙂

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 2, 2017 / 4:21 pm

      Hopefully you can make it to one soon. I’ve even just arranged to meet for coffee with some bloggers who don’t live too far away, which was great.

  23. February 2, 2017 / 12:37 am

    Aww I love meet ups its such a great way to get inspired and improve content! L x

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 2, 2017 / 4:20 pm

      Thanks for your comment. It’s so nice to meet other bloggers in person.

  24. February 2, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    Lovely post And loved our brunch

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 2, 2017 / 3:03 pm

      Thanks Lucy 🙂 Looking forward to meeting up again.

  25. February 2, 2017 / 10:37 pm

    The chance to get together with other bloggers is always worth taking.

  26. February 3, 2017 / 1:48 pm

    I attended quite a few blogger meet ups and they’re so nerve wracking at first but so worth it in the end 🙂

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 3, 2017 / 6:29 pm

      Yay- glad you had a positive experience.

  27. February 6, 2017 / 3:03 am

    I love going to blogger meet ups! I’m so glad that you ended up going and had a great time! BTW your hair looks great!

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 6, 2017 / 9:29 am

      Thanks 🙂 I think a side plait is the best way to tame hair problems!!

  28. February 7, 2017 / 11:15 am

    I loved reading this post and you’ve definitely inspired me to come out of my shell and meet some other bloggers in person! I’ve stumbled this page, I love it 🙂

    • Heathy & Psyched
      February 7, 2017 / 4:13 pm

      Hi. Thanks Roslyn. Honestly you should give it a go. Even if you feel nervous when you’re there, I can guarantee other people are feeling the same. All of the meet ups I’ve been to have been lovely.

Leave a Reply